SAWLEY, West Riding
The Rough House SE 266 679
In 1774, William Aislabie acquired a tenanted farmhouse that overlooked Fountains Abbey and rebuilt it in a Picturesque manner. He rusticated the exterior and raised the gables above the roof-line. Decorative masonry from the Abbey ruins was also incorporated. The Rough House was also part of William's extension to his estate along the Skell and resembles Mowbray Point at Hackfall.